Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tyre Choice ?

+5
Chook
Jimcoleman
Bosco15
Ewok1958
Cheazdad
9 posters

Go down

Tyre Choice ? Empty Tyre Choice ?

Post  Cheazdad Mon 19 Sep 2016, 2:57 pm

Looking at grabbing a new set of tyres for my GSX1250 FA, any thoughts on what tyre to grab thats going to give me the best steering, turn in etc my current rubber has a bit of scalloping on the front and flat across the top and the rears are squaring off as well.  Plenty of tread but I want something thats going to complement my recent suspension upgrade from ProMecha here in Melbourne.

Cheazdad

Back to top Go down

Tyre Choice ? Empty Re: Tyre Choice ?

Post  Ewok1958 Mon 19 Sep 2016, 5:05 pm

Oh dear, not again! 

I'm a long term Michelin Pilot Road user, but also tried a set of Pirelli Angels. Michelins are quite sensitive to the correct pressure and turn in relatively slowly.  But I got 16,000kms plus out of two sets of PR2s. Less from PR3s and PR4s. 

The Angels felt very good when near new but I didn't like them much when past the 50% mark. I didn't like them much in the wet but a Pommy bike mag that tested them in the wet (on a Bandit) loved them.

Can't comment on Dunlops as I haven't used them but someone is sure to comment.
Ewok1958
Ewok1958

Back to top Go down

Post  Bosco15 Mon 19 Sep 2016, 5:58 pm

Stinko's. Cheap. Good. Go a 160/60 rear and 120/60 front. I did it just because I had a brand new pair off my TRX. 
More oomph because of lower gearing and turn in rocks.

Back to top Go down

Post  Jimcoleman Mon 19 Sep 2016, 6:19 pm

Dunlop Road smart 2's $349.00 as set  Rear 180x55x17 and Front 120x70x17  from https://motorcycletyrewarehouse.com.au/

Back to top Go down

Post  Chook Mon 19 Sep 2016, 7:44 pm

Ewok1958 wrote:Oh dear, not again!