Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.

+5
Hammy
NZspokes
dhula
Kaupy1962
Badger
9 posters

Go down

Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.  Empty Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.

Post  Badger Sun 01 Jul 2012, 10:59 am

Hi all,

I'm having the fork oil and seals replaced on my k9 1250 by a mate. I've never done forks before.

Any ideas from those in the know what weight oil I should use? Was thinking of changing the springs aswell.

I'm 100kg with riding gear on if that helps.

I don't want to spend big just improve things a bit.

Cheers Badger

Badger
Badger

Back to top Go down

Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.  Empty RE: Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.

Post  Kaupy1962 Sun 01 Jul 2012, 12:19 pm

I always use 15w
Kaupy1962
Kaupy1962

Back to top Go down

Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.  Empty Re: Time for new fork oil and seals, some advice needed.

Post  dhula Sun 01 Jul 2012, 1:50 pm

Everyone will have a different suggestion but for what it is worth.
If you are going to change springs then go for 0.95kg/mm springs for your weight. You could most likely get away with as low as 0.85kg/mm springs quite easily also. It will depend on what you are after in the front end (do you ride hard and want a race bike type of handling or are you after a more planted and secure front end that still rides the uneven crap roads well) IMO go for linear rate not progressive but it's a personal thing. The bandit has progressive from factory at about .7kg/mm from memory
If you are not going to change any valving in the forks then go with 7.5w oil (this will depend on which oil brand you use but my suggestion is based on using motul fork oil) and 5mm more air gap as a starting point.

dhula

Back to top Go down