Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Suspension black magic

4 posters

Go down

Suspension black magic Empty Suspension black magic

Post  reddog Sun 24 Apr 2016, 10:30 am

So I installed a Cogent rear shock and set the sag to around 35mm thinking I didn't want the bike to be too firm considering I haven't touched the front just yet. I haven't played with the damping, but after a test ride I was wonder where I need to head with it. The bike soaks up the bumps fine now, probably more so than the OEM rear, but on a reasonable bump the bike kind of rocks and then settles. Should I roll of the compression, or is it more the fact that the new rear shock is showing up the soft front more than the OEM ever did? I'm new to suspension tuning btw, all of my bikes I've just ridden with factory setting.
reddog
reddog

Back to top Go down

Suspension black magic Empty Re: Suspension black magic

Post  mtbeerwah Sun 24 Apr 2016, 1:43 pm

Its going to be a trial and error thing.
I`ve had my Wilbers now for three years, and I`m still playing with it. One setting won`t do all, so that's the beauty in being able to adjust it.
I`ve read and read, and I got sick of reading. But I still say you should go to race sites, that some expert has given his 2 cents worth of information, and try to weed out what you yourself, thinks is right and wrong.  
 I now, just note what does what, for different road conditions.
Probably the best thing you can do is, start in the middle settings, go for a ride, make a mental note what the bike was like, then select either the rebound or compression, and go extreme hard, then extreme soft, again making mental notes what the bike did, then wind it 6 clicks at a time, until you start getting close to what feels right. When you start getting ball park, only move it one at a time until it feels right.
Then do the same with the opposite damper control.