Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Stay Upright worth it!

+3
stu
Ewok1958
Truck bandit
7 posters

Go down

Stay Upright worth it! Empty Stay Upright worth it!

Post  Truck bandit Fri 13 Feb 2015, 9:37 am

On Wed 11th, I completed the Advanced Level 1 Cornering and Braking course at Sydney Motorsport track on the full course.

What a worthwhile day it was. A long day from 8:30am - 4:30pm but I didn't want to stop at the end.

We went through regular braking technique, body positioning during slow speed manouvres, emergency braking, then after lunch we broke into groups and had instructors critique our own personal riding style and aeas to improve.

We received great feedback and encouragement from all instructors and were happy to answer all questions.

I got a big tick of approval in my style, but it was good just to confirm how I had been riding for the last 17 years was the correct way. A few participants had more to learn than others but we all came away having learned something.

After completing a task, we'd continue around the circuit and practice what we had done. All up I did 160km distance over numerous laps.

The last half hour was a free run to do full laps and practice all our learned techniques.

If you have been half thinking of doing a riding course and was not sure, let me convince you to do it as it has made me look at corners in a different way and renewed my passion for riding!!!

Go and do it! (Any course with any of the different companies!!!)

Back to top Go down

Stay Upright worth it! Empty Re: Stay Upright worth it!

Post  Ewok1958 Fri 13 Feb 2015, 10:44 am

Sounds good.  How much?  And did you have to wear any special gear in particular, eg full leathers?
Ewok1958
Ewok1958

Back to top Go down

Post  Truck bandit Fri 13 Feb 2015, 12:01 pm

Clothing required were either leathers, boots, gloves.
Or Kevlars and Jacket, boots, gloves.