Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bought a Bandit 250: No Spark Diagnosis / Strange spark problem

5 posters

Go down

Bought a Bandit 250: No Spark Diagnosis / Strange spark problem Empty Bought a Bandit 250: No Spark Diagnosis / Strange spark problem

Post  bandithat Sat 31 Jan 2015, 5:47 pm

Hi guys,

New here; first of all a huge thanks to the whole community and contributors, without sites like this I never would have had the balls undertaken this endeavour! I'm not a mechanic or anything like that, as will become apparent.

I bought a 1994 GSF250 (R) GJ74A with "a bad CDI" for a steal. I've been troubleshooting the bike all morning and have finally got some a clue about the lack of spark.

I replaced the CDI, and firstly got no spark from any of the four leads. This was true for both coils (1,4 and 2,3). However, after removing and shorting a faulty kickstand kill switch, I managed to get a consistent spark... but NOT while cranking.

A spark will only appear (a healthy, single spark, from any lead to be tested) exactly 4 seconds after I stop cranking the starter.

This makes me think that something between the timing signal from the alternator pickup/Crank Position Sensor and the CDI coil driver switch thing is not doing its job. Basically it seems like the capacitors receive enough power from the battery for the spark, but are never triggered to release it and then dump their charge when safe (4 sec delay).

I've read through the DIY CDI repair post on another forum, and want to cover other simpler fixes before I try to replace the Coil Driver Transistor (bit in the CDI that receives the signal from the Crank Position Sensor/Alternator pickup thing and tells the CDI to release the spark).