Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Gopro hero 3

5 posters

Go down

Gopro hero 3  Empty Gopro hero 3

Post  Jimcoleman Fri 26 Apr 2013, 12:55 am

As you know i have been a little harsh on the Go Pro hero 2, its big its boxey and equals a extra 2 litres per 100 fuel consumption when stuck on the side of your helmet. A friend called me up and says can i come around and help him set up his gopro hero 3.

As a professional videographer i like simplicity so the the contour roam 2 is my camera of choice. So when i get my hands on the hero 3 black and I'm looking impressed lets look at the specs.
Video
4k @ 15 fps, useless for mounting on the bike
2.7k @ 24 fps thats awesome for mounting on the bike
1080p @ 60fps and wide, med, and narrow video angles and my choice
720p @ 120fps for that slow mo stuff
420p @ 240fps for that super slow mo, sadly only 4:3 aspect ratio
And a loop feature thats pretty cool

Photo's
12 mp single and with burst of up to 30 fps
Time lapse

Wifi remote for up to 50 camera's and its waterproof to 3 meters for the remote and 60 meters for the camera

As a pro this camera has some serious pro features that contour and drift dont offer. Also there is a fair difference in video quality ( i'll get to that later ) gro pro' black is the only way to go if are buying a new go pro

But there always has to be a but when you buy the gopro a manual firmware upgrade is essental, the battery back pack is a must, the battery in the remote goes flat really quick so i suggest the ios or android app as a alternative, turning the wifi on the remote will reduce battery life hence the reason to purchase a battery bacpak , menu's are fiddley and definatley not user friendly and some times the bloody camera can be just damn cranky .