Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Down, Down and Away

+5
madmax
Chook
truck
paul
mtbeerwah
9 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Down, Down and Away Empty Down, Down and Away

Post  BanditDave Fri 08 Mar 2019, 3:39 pm

Down, Down and Away

BanditDave is on the move.

I got married in Melbourne in 1971 and moved to Launceston in 1972. I was a radio technician with Dept of Civil Aviation.

A year and a bit later, having purchased a house in Perth (Tas), I was promoted in my job and transferred to Hobart.

After 5 years in Hobart, I wanted to explore other parts of Australia, so applied for another promotion and got a job in Canberra.

15 years in Canberra I once again had nomadic urges so quit work and moved to the Gold Coast.

Three years on the Gold Coast was more than enough for me so we bought a tent and some camping gear and went exploring Queensland.

Over a 3-4 week period we got as far as Cooktown and back stopping at every town en-route.

Arriving home it was time to decide where to move to. The two picks were Cairns and Mackay and as Mackay was a bit closer, that was the decision. 15 years later and it was time to move again.

We had travelled extensively throughout Australia; mostly on motorcycle(s) so had quite a lot of knowledge of desirable/undesirable places.
The decision was Hervey Bay.

Twenty five years in Queensland and now a lone traveller I thought it time for another change.

Time for some snow, frost, rain, fog and other fun things in a colder climate.

Even though I had lived in Tasmania previously, I had been working full time and never really got much time to do any serious exploring.

Friends and acquaintances who know I am moving are asking me where I am moving to.

I ask if they know where Geelong is and if they say they do, I say I am moving just south of there.

For anyone ‘struggling’ with this, the answer is Launceston.