Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First aid

+2
paul
reddog
6 posters

Go down

First aid Empty First aid

Post  reddog Sun 01 May 2016, 11:45 pm

Well I'll just start of with how my ride went today. It wasn't on the bandit, but on my trusty drz400E my good mate another friend and I took off from home heading into the bush. Two huskies a 300 2 banger a 450 for stroke and I. 5 minutes in and I am feeling arm pump Sad not cool but I am really unfit so I shake it out and I am all good. We do some ball bearing gravel, some mud and some general stuff. I am just getting into it and letting my body do the suspension work rather than sitting on my back side. Come around a turn and it turns to shit. My mate on the husky 300 touched a tree root on an up hill section which kicked him off the bike and caused him to hit the throttle which swings him off the bike and into a tree. We immediately administered first aid once we figured out what was wrong. I took off home as it was 2 minutes away and grabbed my 4wd. We got my mate into the 4by and off to hospital. End game was 4 breaks in the lower leg. He is off to surgery now to stabilise the breaks, then another lot tomorrow to pin it. All I can say is learn first aid. I've been to multiple bike accidents and this is the first where I have actually been able to deal with it.
reddog
reddog

Back to top Go down

First aid Empty Re: First aid

Post  reddog Sun 01 May 2016, 11:54 pm

I should have mentioned we immobilised his legs with a splint made of sticks and a ratchet strap. We moved him into the tray of my Ute and took him to hospital. The terrain was way too rugged for an ambulance so I got my wife to ring the hospital whilst I took him in. Pretty rough effort in all. Last time a mate got massively bruised lungs and wrote of his fireblade after crashing. At least this time I was helpful rather than freezing
reddog
reddog