Another new guy.

Go down

Another new guy.

Post  Nic 2 on Thu 17 Dec 2015, 2:40 pm

Hi everyone, just signed up, I've been lurking for a while n decided to sign up. I'm 61 and have been a return rider for the last 2 years. Before that, my last bike was a Honda Four K1 in 79.
I live in the Canberra region and have a K2 Honda CB750 ( tryin to relive the 70's no doubt ) that I restored in 2013 and a 2007 1250. The Suzuki is my first and only foray into the modern era.
I was a bike mechanic back in the 70s and worked at a Honda dealer. If it's a Honda Four or Kwaka 9 I can fix it. The fact that I have no idea about this modern job puts me on edge, never the less, for the last year owning it, it has not missed a beat. I have resisted the urge to remove the pair system and the secondaries or even the stock exhaust as I can't see the need for more power and don't have pops in the exhaust on decel, the one thing that I wish was gone is the throttle snatchiness, I can get used to it but then I ride the Four and have to get used to it's throttle, then the Suzuki and back and forth.
 I've ridden a couple of Honda blackbirds, one had a very snatchy throttle n the other one was good, I got a fair bit of pain in my thumbs with the low forward bars on the B/birds and this is really why I bought the Suzuki, because of the riding position. I love how it never shakes it's head and has never given me the slightest scare unlike the old K2 which can be a bit all over the place, that can be fun too though.
Sometimes I prefer riding the old K2 because you have to ride it, sometimes I reckon the Suzuki is a bit boring, sort of like it rides itself but then once in amongst the twisties the bike is great fun for me even though these bikes are supposed to be just ok at handling, for me I have no dramas esp when I ride the K2. I love both bikes n so here I am, great to be on board.