Suzuki Bandits Australia
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Spark Plugs - How to.......

+6
kewwig
reddog
Re-Cycled
Ewok1958
Bosco15
sb1250
10 posters

Go down

Spark Plugs - How to....... Empty Spark Plugs - How to.......

Post  sb1250 Sat 01 Feb 2014, 11:18 pm

I thought I'd post a "how to" for those who are willing to do a bit of spannering on their Bandit, but unsure what to do, or where to start. I'm not a mechanic, but this is how I did it........
Well, 48600kms isn't bad on the original spark plugs!! So after a trip to the bike shop to pick up a new set of NGK CR7E's at $4.70 each, it was time to put them in. The fuel gauge was flashing, so I knew their wasn't much premium left in the tank. Something to consider because you will be removing the tank completely from the Bandit. Now tools......I used the Bandits tool kit, a feeler gauge, basic metric socket set with an extension bar, and my new ratchet spanners. Make sure you have some rags handy. You may want to check the gaps of the new plugs using a feeler gauge before they go in (0.7mm-0.8mm).
Spark Plugs - How to....... 37C858EE-5759-451B-8009-189B051B3ED0_zpskaxwycew 
Take the seat off. Undo the 2 bolts holding the petrol down.
Lift the rear of the tank up, and while supporting the front of the tank, move the tank rearward and up. Now you'll need to chock the tank up so the pipes and wires can be undone. Remove the 2 rubber hoses at the rear first. They should pull off. Next is the electrical connector. 
Spark Plugs - How to....... DD63B064-CC70-403C-9882-ECC1ECB49653_zpsudq7jx8p 
Push the clip down and wriggle it about. It will be a bit of a bastard if it hasn't been undone before! Last is the fuel line. 
Spark Plugs - How to....... A470B7C9-3873-4174-939E-4C11888B3EF1_zpshufza0hn